A proposed bill in North Carolina to ban handheld cellphone use while driving would bar motorists from holding devices in their hand or against their body while driving. A first offense would cost $100. Repeat offenders would face a $200 fine—as well as additional penalties and/or insurance surcharges.
The North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) states that distracted driving led to 49,643 crashes in 2012—and 140 fatalities. By 2016, the number grew to 54,302—with 177 deaths. In 13 other states which prohibit distracted driving, traffic fatalities fell 16% within two years.
Looking at the Numbers
The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) and the Highway Loss Data Institute (HLDI) recently published the results of a new survey on distracted driving in the United States. Their results tell us cellphone use is up 57% percent versus a previous survey.
IIHS research indicates the use of a cellphone played a role in more than 800 traffic fatalities on U.S. roads in 2017.
In total, 23% of all drivers were engaged in one or more distracting activities other than cellphone use. These included:
- Changing the Car’s Audio System
- Adjusting Climate-Control Systems
- Use of Other Electronic Devices
- Talking or Singing While Driving
- Operating Other Vehicle Systems
- Eating or Drinking
- Personal Grooming
- Reading Printed Materials
April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month
Car accidents caused by distracted drivers kill more than nine Americans and leave 100 more injured each day. For this reason, the National Safety Council (NSC) recognizes April to be Distracted Driving Awareness Month. Distracted Driving Awareness Month is an opportunity for all of us to acknowledge the dangers of, and eliminate preventable deaths caused by, distracted driving.
We Can Help
If you or a loved one has been seriously injured in a traffic accident through no fault of your own, call the experienced North Carolina Motor Vehicle Accident Attorneys at Henson Fuerst today at 919-781-1107 or complete a free initial consultation form.
When you call, you will speak with one of our experienced Raleigh Personal Injury Attorneys. They will investigate every detail of your situation at no cost to you—and fight hard to protect your rights. At Henson Fuerst, you will never pay an attorney’s fee up front—and you owe us nothing unless we recover for you.